Rick's Free Auto Repair Advice

2.4 Acura Firing Order

2.4 4-cyl – Acura Firing Order

2.4 Acura Firing Order

Here’s the 2.4 Acura firing order for early model B engines with cylinder #1 located on the driver’s side of the vehicle and later model “K” engines with the #1 cylinder located on the passenger side of the vehicle.

Acura B engine

The “B” series engines are 4-cylinder engines available with either dual overhead cams (DOHC) or single overhead cams (SOHC). The engine was introduced by Honda in 1988 and included Honda’s variable valve timing system known as VTEC (Variable Valve Timing & Lift Electronic Control) and later as the i-VTEC (intelligent-VTEC).

The “B” series was made in 1.5L, 1.6L, 1.7L, 1.8L, and 2.0L variations, with and without VTEC and was superceded by the “K” series engine in 2001. The K-series engine layout changed to located the #1 cylinder on the passenger side.

B16A found in:
1989-1993 Honda Integra XSi
1989-1991 Honda CRX SiR (EF8)
1989-1991 Honda Civic SiR (EF9)

B16B (Type R)
1997–2000 Civic Type R

1992-2000 Honda Civic EDM VTi (EG6/EG9 & EK4)
1992-1997 Honda Civic del Sol EDM VTi (EG)
1996-1997 Honda Civic del Sol VTEC USDM (EG2)
1999-2000 Honda Civic USDM Si (EM1)
1999-2000 Honda Civic SiR Philippines (EK4 sedan)
1999-2000 Honda Civic CDM SiR (EM1)

1994-1995 Del Sol VTEC USDM VERSION

1992–1993 Integra GS-R (USDM VTEC Model VIN DB2)

1990–1991 Acura Integra USDM “RS/LS/LS Special Edition/GS” (DA9
Liftback/Hatchback, DB1 Sedan)

B18B2 Non-VTEC
94-01 Integra RS/LS/SE/GS – DB7/DC4/DC3

1994–2001 USDM Integra GS-R (DC2)2dr (DB8)4dr

B18C5 (Type R) VTEC
Acura Integra Type-R (Integra Type-R)
1997, 1998, 2000, 2001 Integra Type-R

Acura K engine

Acura “K” series 4-cylinder engines

Acura K series engines are four-cylinder engines with DOHC valvetrains. They use roller rockers to reduce friction. The engines use a coil-on-plug design, with a coil for each spark plug. They do not have traditional distrubutors. Instead the ECU controls IGN timing.

The K engines have cast iron cylinder sleeves and use two different versions of variable valve timing (VVT) called VTEC (Variable Valve Timing & Lift Electronic Control) and i-VTEC (intelligent-VTEC). The VTEC system on some engines only provides VVT on the intake cam. In those engines, one intake valve opens fully, while the other only slightly. That creates a swirl effect to improve fuel atomization. Then, at higher RPMs, both valves open fully to improve volumetric efficiency.

Acura K24V7 2.4L 4-cyliner engine, direct injection 201 H.P. Used in Acura ILX 2016 to present

Acura K24W7 2.4L 4-cyliner engine, direct injection 206 H.P. Used in Acura TLX 2015 to present

K20A2 engine

2002–2004 Acura RSX Type S

K20A3 engine

2002–2006 Acura RSX

2002–2005 Honda Civic Si

2002–2005 Honda Civic SiR

2002–2005 Honda Civic Type S

K20A4 engine

2003–2007 Honda Accord

K20C1 engine

K20C2 engine

2016–present Honda Civic LX (USDM)

K20C4 engine

2018–present Honda Accord

K20Z1 engine

2005–2006 Acura RSX Type-S

K20Z2 engine

2006–2011 Acura CSX

K20Z3 engine

2006–2011 Honda Civic Si

2007–2010 Acura CSX Type-S

K23A1 engine with Mitsubishi TD04HL-15T turbocharger

Maximum boost pressure is 13.5psi. The engine includes iVTEC and VTC technologies.

2007–2012 Acura RDX

K24A1 engine

2002–2006 Honda CR-V

2003–2008 Honda Odyssey

2004–2005 Acura TSX

2006–2008 Acura TSX

K24A4 engine

2003–2005 Honda Accord

2003–2006 Honda Element

K24A8 engine

2006–2007 Honda Accord

2007–2011 Honda Element

K24W engine

2013–2017 Honda Accord

2015–present Honda CR-V

K24V7 engine

2016–present Acura ILX

K24W7 engine

2015–present Acura TLX

K24Y2 engine

2012–2015 Honda Crosstour

K24Z1 engine

2007–2009 Honda CRV (RE3, RE4)

K24Z2 engine

2008–2012 Honda Accord LX/LX-P

2016–present Proton Perdana

K24Z3 engine

2008–2012 Honda Accord LXS/ EX/EX-L

2009–2014 Acura TSX

2008–2015 Honda Accord (CP2, CS1)

K24Z4 engine

2008–2012 Honda CRV (RE7)

K24Z6 engine

2010–2011 Honda CRV

2012–2014 Honda CRV

K24Z7 engine

2012–2013 Honda Civic Si

2014–2015 Honda Civic Si

2013–2015 Acura ILX

To see other Acura engines click on this link Acura firing order

Acura firing order

Acura firing order for B and K 4-cylinder engines


© 2012 Rick Muscoplat

Posted on by Rick Muscoplat

Custom Wordpress Website created by Wizzy Wig Web Design, Minneapolis MN